2020/2021

2021 was the year I finally decided to take myself seriously as an artist. I’m not sure why it took me so long, but it did; also, I would not be the artist I am now if I hadn’t… so I guess it couldn’t have happened any other way.

For me, 2020/2021 was a catalyst. Like many, I struggled at times, and I certainly saw my fair share of changes, surprises, ups, downs, blessings and curses. It’s been a transformative time alright, but for me, I have come out the other side mostly unscathed and with much to be grateful for.

My artwork has certainly been the best it’s ever been because I have not been afraid to engage deeply with my artistic practice, and bring the personal to bear upon it. Because my artwork has now met the ridiculously high standards I set for myself, I have finally felt confident enough to exhibit my work.

GLOW exhibition is really a reflection of that period of deep engagement. It explores themes of connection; to people, places, the world and to feelings. There is a lot of love there – intimate hand portraits, love for the nature around me keeping me sane, and still lifes with some really big feelings poured into them. My soul is displayed for all to see – depending on if I have communicated successfully. How revealing it is to exhibit.

Not only is the exhibiting of artwork revealing, but then I have gone around shouting about it to all and sundry – it’s like being naked and instead of hiding, shouting at people to have a good look. Strange behaviour, haha. Social media engagement has happened more than ever; listings on websites such as Eventbrite; getting my work published in magazines and other websites – all these activities designed to help my people find me have happened this year.

As for the future, I think it will be a case of keep on digging. I’ve recently been collaborating with a poetic soul who is inspiring me to play with words more. I’ve never collaborated on artwork before and didn’t think it would or could work as art is such a personal but quite lonely pursuit, lonely by its nature, but I’m looking forward to working in this way again – it keeps some of the loneliness at bay and brings fresh ideas to the surface.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started